Visual guide · August 2026
The best AI tools for Shopify product descriptions in 2026 are not a single winner. They are native admin writers, bulk catalog engines, and marketplace extras that also spit Amazon bullets. This page is a visual investigation: the live i10X product-description category, a three-lane job map, and homepage captures from 2026-08-28. Browse the directory on i10X AI product description generators or start in one i10X workspace. Same series: AI meeting assistants, product photography.
Start native on Shopify: Shopify Magic (and Sidekick, which is what shopify.com/magic showed on 2026-08-28) if you already live in admin and need one SKU of copy, not a PIM project.
Start for bulk catalog: Hypotenuse if you want brand-voice titles and descriptions at catalog scale. Productify.ai if the input is packaging photos, tables, and unstructured supplier assets.
Start for marketplace extras: ProductListing.AI if Amazon title and bullets are the job. Confirm the live site. The i10X listing notes the official site may be parked.
Screens captured 2026-08-28. Plans move. Verify live on the vendor site before you budget. Do not invent claims the pack sheet does not support.
8 tools |
Native Shopify, Hypotenuse, Productify, four image-to-copy peers, plus i10X. Wrong directory cards skipped |
4 visuals |
Category page, routing diagram, Hypotenuse homepage, Productify homepage |
Native vs bulk vs marketplace |
First-class filter. A Jira writer is not a PDP tool. |
7 days |
Pilot: same 10 SKUs, two tools, one brand-voice sheet you would publish |
Who starts where
Do not pick a trophy. Pick a constraint. The map is the article in one screen.
You are… |
Start with |
Why |
|---|---|---|
Merchant already in Shopify admin |
Shopify Magic / Sidekick |
Copy next to the SKU. No new app if one PDP is the job. |
Catalog of hundreds of SKUs |
Hypotenuse, then Productify if the input is packs and tables |
Bulk generation and enrichment. Brand voice is the week-one test. |
Amazon or marketplace listing specialist |
ProductListing.AI or i10X Amazon workflow |
Title and bullets are a different template than a Shopify long description. |
Photo-first, few specs |
DescribeWise, Describa, or Descrb |
Image in, description out. Still fact-check what the photo cannot show. |
Need stills, not words |
Leave this list. Use product photography tools |
Copy and photos are sibling jobs. AI product photography. |
Wrong tools in this i10X directory
Figure 1’s point-tool rail mixes real PDP writers with cards that are not this job. We skip them on purpose.
- Delibr: listed as generative writing for requirements with Jira. Product management, not Shopify PDPs.
- UnoPim Shopware 6 Connector: a PIM connector. Useful plumbing. Not a description generator.
- MarketplaceIQ: product tagging and catalog enrichment. Adjacent, not PDP copy.
- Free Open AI ChatGPT and AI writer tool for e-commerce: a generic writer card. Not a Shopify-native or catalog product.
- NetEase Cross-border AI Assistant: listing generation plus promo and review-request email. A different stack. Skip for a Shopify PDP shortlist.
Sku Fetch is also in the rail (product fetching and multi-marketplace list). We left it out of the eight so the list stays copy, not listing ops.
Three jobs (look at this before logos)
Searchers mix three products: a native Shopify writer (Magic and Sidekick inside admin), a bulk catalog engine (Hypotenuse, Productify), and a marketplace extra (Amazon title and bullets). Image-to-copy tools sit on the catalog side when the spec sheet is a photo. A chatbot that dumps a paragraph into a doc is a first draft, not a catalog system. For stills, see best AI product photography tools. For a merchandising recap, see best AI meeting assistants.
How we ranked
- Job lane: native admin, bulk catalog, or marketplace extras. Read from the live homepage or i10X listing.
- Input honesty: specs, images, or a Shopify catalog. We do not invent features the page does not state.
- Editability and channel: you must fix claims. Shopify long copy is not Amazon bullets.
- Free-tier honesty: no invented per-SKU prices. Verify live on the vendor site.
- Directory hygiene: Delibr, UnoPim, MarketplaceIQ, the generic ChatGPT card, and NetEase are skipped.
The week-one test is 10 SKUs, one brand-voice sheet, and a claim you would sign.
The 8, with the pages we opened
Hypotenuse and Productify are homepage captures from 2026-08-28. Shopify Magic is the native lane, even though shopify.com/magic now renders Sidekick. Other names are i10X listings checked the same day. Vendor logos appear because they are on the live sites. They are not i10X endorsements.
1) Shopify Magic (native): best in-admin start
Shopify Magic is Shopify’s suite of AI features inside the products you already pay for, including text generation for product descriptions. On 2026-08-28,
shopify.com/magic
resolved to Sidekick. That page lists a Writer persona: “Hook shoppers with irresistible product copy,” and a /product-description prompt. FAQ on that capture: Sidekick is included with your Shopify plan; limits vary by plan. Use it for one PDP in admin. It will not replace a bulk catalog engine. Confirm current names in your admin.
Skip if: you need bulk generation from a supplier spreadsheet across channels Shopify does not own.
2) Hypotenuse: best bulk catalog with brand voice
Best for |
Job (this capture) |
Free (homepage) |
Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
Brands that need thousands of on-brand titles and descriptions, then publish |
Bulk catalog copy plus enrichment. Image tools exist; this article is the copy job |
Try for free (this capture) |
Verify live on the vendor site |
i10X listing: Hypotenuse AI. Vendor: hypotenuse.ai.
Skip if: you only need one product description in Shopify admin this afternoon.
3) Productify.ai: best when the input is packs, images, and tables
i10X listing: Productify.ai. Vendor: productify.ai. Paid: verify live on the vendor site.
Skip if: you have clean structured specs and only need a paragraph, not pack-shot OCR.
4) DescribeWise: best image-to-PDP among the i10X cards
i10X lists DescribeWise as AI product descriptions from uploaded images, with category, audience, tone, word count, bulk generation, and multi-language. That is the photo-first catalog job. Confirm current limits on describewise.com. Listing: i10X / DescribeWise. Paid: verify live on the vendor site. We do not copy listing euro figures into this table.
Skip if: the product is a variant with specs the photo cannot show (dose, voltage, legal claims).
5) Describa: best lightweight image-to-copy peer
i10X lists Describa as image-to-SEO description with brand-voice and multi-language. Core use cases on the listing include store copy, social variations, and email. Treat it as a small-catalog peer, then edit. i10X / Describa · describa.ai. Credits: verify live on the vendor site.
Skip if: you need PIM-grade attribute extraction, not a short description.
6) ProductListing.AI: best named Amazon-listing extra (verify the live site)
i10X lists ProductListing.AI for Amazon titles, bullets, and descriptions, with bulk processing and tone controls. That is the marketplace-extra lane in Figure 2. The same listing’s review notes say the official website may be parked. Open productlisting.ai before you plan a catalog around it. i10X / ProductListing.AI.
Skip if: the domain does not resolve, or you only publish on Shopify and never on Amazon.
7) Descrb: best photo-to-listing peer with attributes
i10X lists Descrb as descriptions, attributes, specifications, and images from uploaded photos, with multi-language and API. Use it when onboarding is “here is a pack shot, give me a listing,” then run a human pass for claims. i10X / Descrb · descrb.com. Paid: verify live on the vendor site.
Skip if: you already have a complete spec sheet and only need Hypotenuse-style bulk rewrite.
8) i10X product description workspace: best when Shopify and Amazon copy share a brief
Figure 1’s chips are Amazon SEO listing, Shopify brand-voice PDP, and bulk Etsy tags in one Superagent pass. It will not replace Shopify admin publish. It will keep channel templates, banned claims, and voice notes in the same i10X workspace. Use it after you pick native Magic or a catalog engine, or when you need Amazon bullets next to a Shopify long description without opening a second app. i10X AI product description generator.
Skip if: you already have approved templates in Hypotenuse or in Shopify and only need to hit generate.
The 8 at a glance
Tool |
Best for |
Lane (this map) |
Start (this capture) |
|---|---|---|---|
Shopify Magic / Sidekick |
In-admin PDP copy |
Native Shopify |
Included with plan. Limits: verify live |
Hypotenuse |
Bulk brand-voice catalog |
Bulk catalog |
Try for free (homepage 2026-08-28) |
Productify.ai |
Packs, images, tables to copy |
Bulk catalog |
Verify live |
DescribeWise |
Image to SEO description |
Bulk / photo-first |
Verify live |
Describa |
Lightweight image-to-copy |
Bulk / photo-first |
Verify live |
ProductListing.AI |
Amazon title and bullets |
Marketplace extras |
Verify live. Listing flags parked site |
Descrb |
Photo to listing + attributes |
Bulk / photo-first |
Verify live |
i10X |
Shopify + Amazon brief |
Workspace draft |
Category in Figure 1 |
Skipped from the directory: Delibr, UnoPim connector, MarketplaceIQ, generic ChatGPT writer card, NetEase.
What we left out
- Delibr, UnoPim, MarketplaceIQ, NetEase, generic ChatGPT card: in the i10X rail, not this job.
- Sku Fetch: listing ops, not copy.
Do not invent product facts in the copy
AI will fill gaps. If the pack does not state a measurement, material, or clinical claim, do not let the model write one. Keep a banned-claim list and a human pass before publish. This is not legal advice.
One-week pilot
- Pick two tools from different families in Figure 2.
- Use the same 10 SKUs. Edit claims against the spec sheet or photo.
- Score 1-5: factual match, brand voice, whether you would hit publish. Score Amazon bullets separately from Shopify long copy.
- Kill the loser. Do not keep two voices on the same SKU.
Seat math: AI subscription stack cost. For stills in the same week: AI product photography.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best AI Shopify product description tool overall in 2026?
There is no overall. Native Magic or Sidekick for in-admin SKUs. Hypotenuse or Productify for bulk catalog. ProductListing.AI (if live) or i10X for Amazon-shaped extras.
Is Shopify Magic the same as Sidekick?
Magic is the AI suite inside Shopify. On 2026-08-28, shopify.com/magic showed Sidekick, including a Writer persona and a product-description prompt. Confirm names in your admin. Both are native. Neither is a bulk PIM.
What is the best free option?
Native Magic/Sidekick rides your Shopify plan. Third-party free credits and trials change. Verify live on each vendor site.
Can I use these for Amazon bullets?
Some tools and the i10X Amazon workflow are built for marketplace templates. Shopify long copy is not an Amazon listing. Do not paste one into the other without a format pass.
Where can I compare them side by side?
Vendor trials, plus
the i10X product description category.
Related:
product photography
·
meeting assistants
·
i10X.
Shortlist in the directory, then edit the claims
The category page in Figure 1 is the live catalog. Paste specs into a workspace when you need Shopify long copy and Amazon bullets from the same brief without inventing a measurement.
Open AI product description generators on i10X →
Start on i10X · AI meeting assistants · AI product photography · AI storyboard generators · Subscription stack cost
- i10X AI Product Description Generator category capture (Figure 1) and routing chart (Figure 2), 2026-08-28. i10x.ai/tools/category/writing-editing/free-ai-product-description-generator.
- Hypotenuse AI homepage capture (Figure 3), 2026-08-28. hypotenuse.ai. Listing: i10X / Hypotenuse AI.
- Productify.ai homepage capture (Figure 4), 2026-08-28. productify.ai. Listing: i10X / Productify.ai.
- Shopify Magic / Sidekick: shopify.com/magic opened 2026-08-28 (Sidekick Writer persona and /product-description prompt). Shopify Help Center, Shopify Magic, for in-admin text generation including product descriptions.
- i10X listings, 2026-08-28: DescribeWise, Describa, ProductListing.AI (parked-site note on listing), Descrb. Skipped as wrong job: Delibr, UnoPim Shopware 6 Connector, MarketplaceIQ, generic ChatGPT e-commerce writer card, NetEase Cross-border AI Assistant.



